Memorial Day Highlights

Intrepid on Memorial Day

Intrepid on Memorial Day

Intrepid Musuem

Intrepid Musuem

Photos from the Intrepid Museum in New York

Hello world,

On Memorial Day I decided to visit the Intrepid Sea, Air, and Space Museum at Pier 86 in Manhattan. If you’ve never been there you should put it on your bucket list. To civilians especially, it is amazing to see that planes were able to land and take off on the deck of this great ship. I say to civilians, because for the people in the armed forces and people who are around these things daily, it is common place. That is why it such a wonderful place to visit. See the pictures above and below.

As expected the Memorial Day crowd was phenomenal. A month ago I was there and I just purchased my ticket and walked right in. On Monday, lines extended from the entrance of the Intrepid for about a mile and a half. If you are familiar with that area of Manhattan, the lines were almost at the Circle Line Boarding gate. That was just to get on the Intrepid. The other Navy Ship at the pier which was open to the public had a 3 hour wait.

So, being the patient New Yorker that I am, I decided to walk away. I did find a spot where I was able to see the search and rescue operations of the US Coast Guard, and other demonstrations. The view of the Hudson River with the George Washington Bridge as the backdrop is absolutely breathtaking. Whether visitor or tourist, please visit the Intrepid Museum. It is located at West 46th Street and 12th Avenue. Enjoy your day.

Postaday2011>

The Intrepid in the Hudson

The Intrepid in the Hudson

